Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was created in December 1991. In the adopted Declaration the participants of the Commonwealth declared their interaction on the basis of sovereign equality.
At present the CIS unites: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

In September 1993 the Heads of the CIS States signed an Agreement on the creation of Economic Union to form common economic space grounded on free movement of goods, services, labour force, capital; to elaborate coordinated monetary, tax, price, customs, external economic policy; to bring together methods of regulating economic activity and create favourable conditions for the development of direct production relations.

In order to facilitate further integration the Agreement on deepening of integration in economic and humanitarian field of four countries (Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia) and Agreement on creation of Commonwealth of Sovereign Republics (Belarus and Russia) with creation of corresponding coordinating bodies were signed in 1995. In February 1999 by the decision of the Interstate Council of four countries (Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia) the Republic of Tajikistan was recognized as participant of the customs union enjoying full rights.

In October 2000 the Heads of five countries (Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan) signed an Agreement on creation of Eurasian Economic Community. At present Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine have the status of the observer under EAEC. In October 2005 Uzbekistan made the statement to join this organization.

In September 2003 four countries – Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia and Ukraine signed an Agreement on Formation of CES (Common Economic Space).

Integration of the countries in the framework of the Commonwealth of Independent States is executed through its coordinating institutions (charter bodies, executive bodies and the bodies of branch cooperation of the CIS).

Charter Bodies of the CIS:

Council of the Heads of States
Council of the Heads of Governments
Council of Foreign Ministers
Council of Defense Ministers
Council of Commanders-in-Chief of Frontier Troops
Inter-Parliamentary Assembly
Economic Court
Executive Bodies of the CIS:

Economic Council
Council of Permanent Plenipotentiary Representatives of the States-Participants of the Commonwealth under Charter
and Other Bodies of the Commonwealth
Executive Committee

Bodies of Branch Cooperation

Anti -Terrorist Center
Interstate Bank
Interstate Statistical Committee
Interstate Council on Standardization Metrology and Certification
Interstate Council on Emergency Situation of Natural and Anthropogenic Character
Interstate Council on Antimonopoly Policy
Coordinating council of the states-participants of the CIS on Informatization under the Regional Commonwealth
in the Field of Communications
Electric Energy Council
Interstate Council on Aviation and Air Space Use
Council of the Heads of Statistical Services of the States-Participants of the Commonwealth
Council of the Heads of Customs Services of the States-Participants of the Commonwealth



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s